Through Proclamation no. 50, series of 2016, signed by Executive Secretary Salvador C. Medialdea, by the authority of President Rodrigo, on August 16, 2016, the following dates are declared as regular holidays:

Holiday Date
New Year’s Day January 1 (Sunday)
Araw ng Kagitingan April 9 (Sunday)
Maundy Thursday April 13 (Thursday)
Good Friday  April 14 (Friday)
Labor Day May 1 (Monday)
Independence Day June 12 (Monday)
National Heroes Day August 28 (Monday)
Bonifacio Day November 30 (Thursday)
Christmas Day December 25 (Monday)
Rizal Day December 30 (Saturday)

Whereas, the following dates are declared as Special Non-Working Holidays:

Holiday Date
Chinese New Year January 28 (Saturday)
EDSA People Power Revolution February 25 (Saturday)
Black Saturday April 15 (Saturday)
Ninoy Aquino Day August 21 (Monday)
All Saints Day November 1 (Wednesday)

Also, under the same proclamation, additional special non-working holidays are declared. These dates are  October 31 (Tuesday), and December 31 (Sunday). The proclamation of these additional special non-working holidays aims to (a) “strengthen family ties by providing longer New Year, All Saints’ Day, and Christmas weekends” and (b) “promote domestic tourism”.

Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha are also observed and declared as national holidays in the country, under RA No. 9849. The official dates of these holidays will be released once the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) identified them based on the lunar calendar.

With this, Filipinos can now plan and schedule their trips for 2017.


Office of the President (2016). Proclamation No. 50, s. 2016. Retrieved December 31, 2016 from